Jump to content


Photo

Problems opening PDF files


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Sally44

Sally44

    K2

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5045 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:East Midlands

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:54 AM

Hoping someone on here can help with this so I don't have to take it into the computer repair man.

When I have an email with an attachment, when I try to open it, it takes me to another "file conversion" window, and whatever I click it brings up a page of unreadable jargon and shapes!

Any ideas?

#2 robert7111a

robert7111a

    Mt Blanc

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:London

Posted 14 September 2012 - 08:04 AM

Hi Sally

Do you have Adobe Reader installed? Perhaps this might help

Regards

#3 Shnoing

Shnoing

    Mt Blanc

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Continental EU

Posted 14 September 2012 - 03:55 PM

Sometimes opening an attachment dirctly from the mail programme doesn't work.
First "save as ..." the file to your harddisk.
Then you could do a virus scan.
Then you could try to open it ...

#4 Special_talent123

Special_talent123

    Autie Girl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2094 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England

Posted 14 September 2012 - 04:05 PM

is adobe pdf reader installed on your computer as it wont work opening up and take u to that site if not if you opened a document that takes u to PDF File

#5 Special_talent123

Special_talent123

    Autie Girl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2094 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England

Posted 14 September 2012 - 04:06 PM

oh it sounds like encoding? What format has the person saved it under, because when someone saves .doc and sends me information it opens encoding but if someone sends RFT then it opens without encoding but in microsoft office, and not wordpad

#6 Sally44

Sally44

    K2

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5045 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:East Midlands

Posted 19 September 2012 - 06:59 PM

I've downloaded Adobe, and that is working, but I have to open PDF's in a 'file' first. So it isn't doing it automatically - but it is better than before.



#7 Special_talent123

Special_talent123

    Autie Girl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2094 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England

Posted 19 September 2012 - 07:10 PM

thats because they set it to either do it from internet or save to your desktop to open




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users