tracky2

newby, looking for advice for 6 yr old son

Hi there

i am new to this and just want a little advise for my son.

Just recently i have began the long road of looking for a diagnosis for my son who i suspect has ASD? Although not sure of this but feel his behaviour, Quirks fit this.

School have spoken about DCD but although i know some of the symptoms cross over and not all behaviours are required to fit I am unsure of this as diagnosis though?

I wont go in to all his traits on the first post as it may end up reading like an essay lol.

My son suffers from anxiety and when this occurrs regular throws up if it is left to manifest. Aslo i am very aware that he does not manage in social situations and see difference in his interactions. Looking back this was always a problem but thought he would grow out of it.

Just looking for some advise on ways to manage situations for him to limit the anxiety.

Firstly when he is suffering anxiety eg recently as you know the weathers been bad (very windy) and this has caused problems at night for settling. He was never a great settler but recerntly with the aid of traffic light timer he has settled better but has to have music and fan on and also tempreture in room cool. When it is loud outside I try and get him to wear his headphones to try and drown out the noise, he also has a worry monster that he writes down the worry pops it in the mouth and zips it up, magically the worry moster eats it. ( oh if life were that easy for us mums huh lol) What else do you sujest in this situation because even though i snuggle with him for a bit sometimes he still throws up due to anxiety? Its not just the weather anxiety can highten with anything depending on what is bothering him.