Nixie

I think I may have Aspergers

Hello

I'm female, 20, 21 in June. I'm beginning to wonder if I have Aspergers. I've always thought that Im different but the older I get the harder it is to live in a world I feel so different from. Ive writen down a list of the main things I think are a bit "odd" about me I stopped because it was already long enough and I dont want to bore people - appologies for the length!

*I've always been different from everyone. I dont just think it - I am. I never fit in however hard I try.

*I dont like social events unless I know the people and even then I get anxious about them. I normally make sure I know 1 person very well e.g. my boyfriend, or a particular friend I know is going and just stick to them like glue. I dont talk in social gatherings.

*Im not very good at talking to people unless I have something specific to say to them. I'll go through the How are you? Im good thanks. Good week? etc. but when I run out of things I can think to ask Im stuck Im not good at small talk. I dont really understand it - whats the point in saying something thats not important? But if Im meeting someone new and I ask questions about them I think people take it the wrong way and think Im being nosy.

*I zone out a lot. I just go into my own little world. I try to stay in the real world but I dont really like it a lot of the time. Life is so unpredictable and scary and I would rather be in my world and think about things I want to. I zone out in conversations and when I come back in I have no idea what they are talking about or if someone says my name or asks me a question. When I was a child I was always called a daydreamer and everyone says Im on my own planet.