cruisemum

hi newbie here

Hi everyone ! :peace:

My DH and I have a 5 yr old dd. My 5 yr old has been identified through school as having social communication issues & is displaying traits on the spectrum. She is on school action and has an IEP. We have an appointment in October for her to see the Community Consultant Paediatrician. She has had an assessment done via a social communications expert, who has advised that she will need close monitoring.

I discovered yesterday via a friend, that the paediatrician that she is due to see, is someone who is very matter of fact and doesn't suffer fools. My friend advises that you need to learn how the 'system' works in order to get what you want, but that you don't know how the system works until you've been through it...if that makes any sense?!

I want to help my dd as much as possible and want her to get diagnosed if this is what I suspect it is...ASD. I feel like im juggling with jelly, trying to understand her and help her; trying to 'enjoy' the summer holidays, yet trying to be her best advocate and ensure that she gets what she's entitled to. I am reading everything I can get my hands on, want to do every course around to help me best understand. What can we do to ensure that we don't get fobbed off or that we just get told to 'wait and see'? How do we navigate this minefield???

We also have a 3.5 yr old dd who is NT, how do I ensure that she doesn't get sidelined?

I know some of my questions may sound really simplistic and obvious, but I feel useless at times. I recently had a complete hysterectomy and am trying to adjust to that and hormone levels, two children etc etc.

Any and all help/advice gladly and gratefully received.

Thank you for reading smiley-smile.gif

Caroline

hello and welcome to the boards