Aura Todd

Do you find this happens to you?

Sometimes I remember things that happen in the past but when it comes to remembering where I put something, my mind goes blank. I find it frustrating when this happens, also sometimes I forget people's names which can be a bit embarrassing. I also have to write everything down or I end up forgetting it and I sometimes also have a short fuse.

Do you find this happens to you, is this a sign of Aspburgers? (spellcheck keeps wanting to call it hamburgers :) ) Sorry to ask.

Thanks for reading this post.

Having to list everything you need to do is supposedly related to executive function, which is just a name for whatever allows you to organise and prioritise tasks in your head. I am not that good with priorities, even when it comes to things that I actually want to do. It can be a difficulty at work and I have to rely on others for figuring out priorities some of the time.

The best thing is probably to know where you have limitations and ask for help...

It’s not a big deal if you can make friends with Tony Buzan. :)

His books about memory training and mnemonics are very simple, lots of fun to read/ learn and very effective. Try mind mapping – it works! Usually learning new skills isn’t that challenging as learning self-motivation. If you can crack the secret to you self-motivation you’d be the queen !

I generally I have quite a good long-term memory, its packed with all kinds of useful (and not so useful) stuff - however, I struggle with memory recall, and my short-term memory isn't great. If I put the effort in then I can normally remember something, I don't use a proper technique as such (I probably should learn some) - I just try and use associations, and repeat it over and over in my mind. I need to work on my recall because I'm frustrated at knowing things but not being able to recall them quickly enough, or at all. I also struggle under pressure, my brain locks up even more.