rail_enthusiast

Struggling with work

Hi there,

I am a 30 year old male and have recently been diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome. I also have Dyspraxia which was diagnosed when I was a teenager.

Without digressing too much, I have always found life to be a struggle, social, academic, practical and work. Due to the fact that I have always come across as quite soft and well spoken, it was often people from poorer backgrounds who victimised me at school. I had a very dictatorial and unsympathetic father, which in many ways forced me to develop what I believe to be subconscious coping mechanisms.

As a teenager I was obsessed with PCs (probably due to the absence of friends or a social life), and learnt a great deal about PC hardware and desktop operating systems under my own steam. It would seem a logical progression that I have been working in IT for the past 10 years, and up until about three years ago was able to cope with things pretty well. I believe that my success in the IT/PC support field was largely attributable to what I had taught myself independently and the fact that I have good customer service skills (I am very passive and overly polite). I do not believe that I have the capability to engage in group or directed learning, and that I am only capable of learning through self directed study/problem solving.

Over the past few years I have been promoted into various different back office/infrastructure roles, which are far more reliant upon technical, organisational and analytical skills, and not so much on customer service. I foolishly let my ego run away with it's self and believed that I would be capable of doing such jobs. However, a healthy dose of realism brought out by 7 days in a new job has shown me that I am out of my depth.