Antolak

If you had only one question to ask

I am an Enhanced Provision teacher in a medium-sized mainstream primary school. All my pupils, bar one, are high on the autistic spectrum.

Later this week, interviews begin for the position of new headteacher in our school and I am on the preliminary interview panel. I am able to ask the interviewees just one question. What should that question be?

Any suggestions?

Richard.

PS Please remember that I may have to work under this person for the next few years.

Hi Richard

I very much envy you right now! Obviously this sooooo important! The answer will significantly impact every pupil and parent within the school.

I am giving it serious consideration. I know that when my son went through the primary school system.....there are no enhanced programmes to my knowledge in Fife.....my main concern was for his physical and emotional protection against bullying. It was torture to know he was being supervised by people who did not understand him. I assume that this is less of a concern within your establishment though? Are all staff trained in ASD??

Just letting you know that I am thinking hard for you.

Arlene

Hello Arlene,

thanks for thinking about this for me.

Only a few, possibly three, teachers in the school have had training in ASD (other than the hour-and-a-half's "overview" given at the beginning of each academic year).

Richard

Richard

In that case, the candidates views on discipline could be a strong indicator of their understanding about HF ASD?

Perhaps asking 'What will your discipline strategies and procedures involve/entail?'

Is that helpful at alll??

Edited by Arlene Mary Anderson