Sign in to follow this  
tamaras

Hello from a very shy newbie

Hi. I dont even know if I am posting this in the correct section. I am very new to this aspergers thing but it is my 18 yr old son who has only been diagnosed last year!

Since he was small he has had confidence problems and hated playing with children though he is very intelligent and liked to sit and learn stuff. Obviously this has always been a concern and I remember being at the doctors when he was in primary school who promised to get an appointment with a child psychologist but unfortunately this never happened. Eventually when he was 16 after years of trouble with school he saw a psychiatrist for depression who then diagnosed Aspergers after him being seen for almost an year. I feel this should surely have been picked up on sooner. He is the best son I could ask for as he is very helpful to me as I am disabled and he talks non stop with me and his granny but he will not go out in public on his own. Will not enter a shop. Wont see a doctor without me. I dont mind as I am his mother and want to make things easier for him. He has been signed as unfit to work at the moment as he cant go anywhere on his own and wont talk for himself.

My biggest worry is that I may have been the cause of this Aspergers as I dont know what does cause this. He had a very long birth. 47.5 hours from when my waters broke and natural delivery but his head was very mis-shapen when he came out. Like a cute little cone head. Can things like this cause this.

Sorry to have gone on but as I said am not used to forums or Aspergers.

Welcome to the forum Tamaras,

The first thing to say is that absolutely nothing you have done, or not done, has caused your son to have AS. This is just how he is, just like the colour of his eyes or his gender.

It's a very emotional time around diagnosis...you need to be gentle with yourself, and give yourself plenty of time to understand AS and to come to terms with this news.