PW66

Social Stories

Hi all, hope this is ok to post this here.

While looking for some help sites for a someone else, I cam across some good Social Stories sites, with good examples, which can be used as is, or adapted to fit you.

http://www.frsd.k12.nj.us/autistic/Social%...ial_stories.htm

http://rsaffran.tripod.com/social.html#The%20stories

Also when you register at this site http://www.sandbox-learning.com/?gclid=COH...CFQJPQgodnHkoUQ, you can customise and get a free social story about waiting - I've passed this one one to school, and they love it and are looking at other stories to purchase.

Hope these help someone.

Paula

That's a good website thank you for sharing, I've downloaded the free story and I think it will be quite helpful for G. x

hi there, some really good examples there, i may well use some of those!! just to make a point, i was not sure about the second link. some of the social stories there seemed a little harsh and negative, however im no expert, for example, the one thats for "laziness" i would be interested in hearing what others think about that though.

i keep hearing about social stories but dont know what they are,can anyone explain?can they be used with nt children as well?

hi there, some really good examples there, i may well use some of those!! just to make a point, i was not sure about the second link. some of the social stories there seemed a little harsh and negative, however im no expert, for example, the one thats for "laziness" i would be interested in hearing what others think about that though.

Anything that talks about recovering a child makes me very :angry: That second website sounds very much like dog training (aka ABA) and just reinforces everything I dislike about ABA. So much about forcing a child to fit in and behave how their NT parents want them to and so little actually understanding autism. This so-called social story about My Hands made me want to :crying: