atlantis

Sertraline- zombie or superhuman? Also antidepressants in general

So, I went to the doc this week and had some antidepressants foisted upon me- Sertraline. I know there's recently been a thread about this already, but what I'm concerned about is the effect it might have on my ability to work. I'm an art student and I've heard bad things about the effects of antidepressants on creative ability. I've read some accounts that liken the effects to a 'zombie' kind of state, which definitely doesn't sound helpful (mostly because that seems to be my problem in the first place!).

On the other hand some people have said it really enhanced their clarity of thought, which is something I could definitely use as I've been struggling to focus at all since the beginning of this academic year.

Does anyone have any experience with this? (not just Sertraline, antideps in general?)

I still haven't taken any of the pills- I'm waiting 'til I have more information to make that decision.

Thanks, amigos

_atLantis_

My experience was not very good I’m afraid. I used to take anti-shmanty a couple of times. And if there was a list of side effects on a leaflet, I’ve got at very least a half of them. But it happened with the other drags, not yours.

I've never taken that drug, but struggle with "get up and go" if you like... so I found it most bizarre when my doc suggested putting me on sedative type anti-d's - I won't go into the reasoning behind this.... I felt like a zombie for about 6 weeks, I've recently increased the dose, and unsurprisingly I am still tired all the time.

I think people all react differently though - I guess the trick would be to try it and see... unless you can google it and see if tired-ness or zombie-like effects are common with that particular tablet? :)

I found the side effects of any and all of them (and I have been on at least 5) were far worse than what it was meant to "treat".