Eleinay

Emotional black out

Hello,

I need some help. Something quite strange happens to me or, at least I think it's strange.

When for some reason I get hurt by someone who is very emotionally close to me, I react and I get angry, but then everything stops: for days I get a total emotional black out. I do all what I have to, I go to work, I study, I efficiently organize my days. Who hurted me simply ceases to exist, even if she/he says that he/she is sorry, cries and so on. I do not feel anything. I can't even remember what is like to love him/her.

Is that normal for an aspie?

I'd say yes that I am like you. It doesn't even have to be love with me its simply someone not doing something the way I want it done that gets to me so I cope with just blocking it all out. Sometimes this works other times it doesn't and the problem remains and I have to find a way of dealing with it, which I'm not good at

I tend to have this problem a lot with people in authority

It's a way to block out emotional problems that you don't understand or have any control over. I am similar to you not identical but blocking things out when they become too much is a good survival strategy otherwise we would be in a continuous meltdown in these situations.

Sounds like dissociation to me where you take yourself out of the situation to stop yourself being hurt.

I'm similar, I don't understand why a situation has happened. Tonight has been an example, not triggered by me, but someone else, they stormed off threatening to leave me and calling me a weirdo. I don't feel hurt about that but just want to speak to them, but they have closed me out. Makes me very sad.

Thanks everyone for your time.

I agree with Trekster, it sounds like dissociation.

I experienced last "episode" in July, when I opened this thread. Everything went better in a week or so, not a long time but not too short too.