mommyof3

Advice Please Hand licking plus...

Hi everyone. I'm new to the site and starting off looking for advice. I have a 6 year old boy who I am just starting to get diagnosed. Question I have is he started hand licking about three weeks ago. I'm not positive as to why. I am sure that things changed here for a bit and are now back to normal (that's when behavior started). He has regressed. I figured it would start when things changed. I was wrong. He regressed when thing became back to normal. Any ideas how to help him stop the hand licking? He's starting to get the chapped hands, wonderful looks and growing concern to his hands bothering him. Also has regressed quite a bit as far as meltdowns go. Had them down to one or less a day. Lately seems like he's having about 5 - 10 a night. I tried to put A&D on hands, but he freaked saying he couldn't touch anything. Turned into a long meltdown. If anyone has any ideas I'd love to hear them.

Thank you.

Wendy

I am no expert and this is only my opinion but the hand licking is sensory, at the school were i work other students do the same. Does he smell his hands afterwards?? Could you use gloves to stop the licking??? Are his hands chapped from licking or is he licking his hands because they are chapped??

Hope this helps.

justamom

my son j will lick between fingers and put all finger tips in mouth at once one hand at a time he chews his knuckles constantly makes them real sore thumb knuckles look funny shape too we try to ignore it but its difficult .

Does he smell his hands afterwards?? Could you use gloves to stop the licking??? Are his hands chapped from licking or is he licking his hands because they are chapped??