kazemporium

HI i'm a newbie

Just wanted to say hi, i'm Karen and a mum of 2 boys age 17 and 6 from Kent. 6yr old was diagnosed with aspergers about a mnth ago, look forward to speaking to you and hopefully getting some advice.

Hi welcome to the forum.They are a great crew here so I hope you feel at home.I am another Karen.I have Ben age 8 [DCD with social communication difficulties-a bit Aspie but the powers that be cannot decide he has enough for Dx :D ]Regards Karen.

Thanks everyone you seem like a friendly group.

Have a question maybe you can answer. My son complains of aching legs when he is walking which up until now i have dismissed thinking he is lazy and doesn't want to walk. Mentioned it to paed's sidekick on intial assesment but she said he was ok. Didn't mention it to paed when we had final assesment. Is there a link between asp and leg problems.

I often spend nights heating up heat pads in the microwave for our 10 year old because of the pains in his legs, especially his knees. He also complains of general aches and pains after any kind of exercise. I have a friend who has two sons with ASD and both complain about the same thing. Her eldest has just been seen by an OT and has been given a programme of work to help build up his muscle tone and posture. People with ASD often have problems doing simple things like walking. I know that my eldest does and he has what is often called an Aspergers gait. I think that many children have these problems and they should all be assessed by an OT and Physiotherapist but unless you make a noise and request appointments they do not happen. Our Pead just dismissed the pains in the leg but they have gotten much worse and so I went to see our GP who is sending us to see a Rheumatologist which I do not think is the answer I asked to see an OT. However hopefully whoever we see will be able to help and maybe make a referral for OT.

Cat

Hi Kaz and welcome to the forum.

I have a son aged 11 with Aspergers dx in Jan 07.