oxgirl

Self-imposed isolation

I'm very lonely and spend every day on my own, usually not exchanging a word with a single other person. I'm so used to being on my own that it's like I've forgotten how to communicate with people.

A few months ago I attended a CBT group and at the end people exchanged numbers. Well today, out of the blue, one of the people on the course called me and said her and another woman were meeting for coffee next week and would I like to come! :sick: So, what did I do, I instantly wracked my brain for an excuse not to go and politely turned her down. I feel like such a failure. :(

I'm not very good at coping with sudden changes in plan like that and I just couldn't handle the pressure and so I opted out. Somehow it's just easier to stay on my own all the time then I won't have to feel weird or worry about what people think of me, I've lost every single ounce of confidence that I ever had, and that wasn't much to start with. I feel so pathetic. :tearful:

~ Mel ~

Oh Oxgirl >:D<<'>

I know exactly how you feel :(

Now that you've had a chance to think about it, would it be possible to phone her back and say a change of plans means you can make coffee after all? If these were people you met at a CBT group, I bet they would actually understand how you feel too.

You're not a failure at all, you're just someone who has been living under acute, chronic stress for years, and that would take it's toll on anyone's confidence.

If you could make that call, think how pleased you'll feel with yourself if you do manage to go for coffee, even if you're terrified at the same time >:D<<'>

And if you can't quite get there this time, you could leave it a couple of weeks and then phone her back and suggest coffee yourself.

The first steps are always the hardest, but I bet everyone here is rooting for you >:D<<'>

Do you think you might manage Greenwich, although I can see how off-putting it might be to meet us all en masse! :lol:;)